At the International Aviation Snow Symposium in May of 1976, the Col. Bernt Balchen Award for excellence in snow and ice control was established. Balchen, a native of Norway, became a US citizen and had a distinguished career in aviation, particularly in pioneering Arctic exploration. Balchen served in the US Air Force and was a Distinguished Flying Cross recipient.

At the 30th annual IASS in 1996, the awards were renamed the Balchen/Post Awards to honor the contributions of Wiley Post, Jr. Mr. Post was chairman of the first IASS, and is celebrated for his dedicated service to the IASS that spanned 30 years.

Read more about Col. Balchen and Mr. Post.

The purpose of this award is to promote better snow and ice control and to recognize those individuals responsible for outstanding performance.

The Balchen/Post Awards are presented each year at the International Aviation Snow Symposium.



Alex M. Kashani, A.A.E.

Adam Williams
Aircraft Owner & Pilots Association

Liam Connolly
Regional Airline Association

Alex Gertsen, C.M.
National Business Aviation Association

Richard P. DeiTos, Jr.
Metropolitan Washington
Airlines Committee

John White
Air Line Pilots Association

Randy Moseng
Federal Aviation Administration

Paul J. McGraw
Airlines for America

Preston Benedyk, DAF
Tyndall AFB

After serving 24 distinguished years as the first President of the American Association of Airport Executives, F. Russell Hoyt retired in 1983 and became the first Executive Director of the NEC, a position he held with equal distinction until his passing in 1997. In 2000, to recognize his generous and accomplished service to NEC, the AAAE, and the aviation industry, the NEC renamed its President’s Award the F. Russell Hoyt Presidential Award.

Each year, the NEC President selects an awardee who reflects the commitment and dedication to the airport industry and to the NEC that Russ Hoyt exhibited. This award is presented at the Awards Luncheon at the Chapter’s Annual Conference.

2018     Guillermo Felix
2017     Carlton E. Braley Jr., A.A.E.
2016     Wayne Pennell, A.A.E.
2015     Paul J. Wiedefeld, A.A.E.
2014     Bill Vanacek, Niagara Frontier Aviation Authority

2013     Richard J. Williams, A.A.E.
2012     Alfred Pollard, A.A.E.
2011     Thomas Dames, A.A.E./Marshall Stevens, A.A.E.
2010     Alex Kashani, A.A.E.
2009     Terry Goralski
2008     Leo Comeau, AAE/Richard Horstmann, CM
2007     Al Graser, A.A.E.
2006     Bryan Corbett, A.A.E./Paul McDonough
2005     Stephen J. Adams, A.A.E.
2004     Jeanne Olivier, A.A.E.
2003     Alex Kashani, A.A.E.
2002     Robert Nowak
2001     Michael Campbell, A.A.E./Debra Wright
2000     Cecil Sutton
1999     Charles Hostetter, A.A.E.
1998     Robert Bogan, A.A.E.
1997     John Duval, A.A.E.
1996     Mark Brewer, A.A.E.
1995     27 Privately owned/Public use Airport
1994     37 Airports
1993     Gerald FitzGerald, A.A.E.
1992     John Armour, A.A.E.
1991     James Malarky
1990     Robert Nowak/John Hornbuckle
1989     Fred Hidinger
1988     John Dickerson
1987     E. Mike Goodwin

At the NEC 42nd Annual Conference in 2000, the Chapter instituted its Corporate Appreciation Award to recognize the corporate member who has demonstrated leadership and commitment to the Chapter and its members through sponsorships, committee work, and overall support above and beyond what is normally expected.

In June 2015, the award was renamed the Jerry FitzGerald, A.A.E. NEC Corporate Award of Excellence in honor of the late Jerry FitzGerald, A.A.E. Jerry’s commitment to NEC/AAAE, the AAAE, and the aviation industry embodied the spirit of the award. His leadership with the NEC/AAAE included service as Chapter President, National Chairman, both Executive and Corporate membership and as a member of the Board of Directors. Jerry made our Association stronger and more successful.

Each year, the NEC President selects the awardee, who is announced and presented during the Corporate Appreciation Luncheon at the Chapter’s Annual Conference.


Corporate Award of Excellence Awardees

2017     Mary M. Miller - BBA Aviation/Signature Flight Support
2016     Manik Arora - Arora Engineers, Inc.
2015     Chad Nixon - McFarland Johnson, Inc.
2014     Todd Rushing - Sherwin Industries

2013     Larry Bauman, CM - URS Corporation
2012     Gary Kogut, CM - Oshkosh Corporation
2011     Richard Horstmann, CM - Urban Engineers
2010     Bernard Drury - Henry Brothers Electronics
2009     Armen DerHohannesian Associates
2008     Richard Singleton - Sealcoating Inc.
2007     Leon Watkins - The Hudson Group
2006     Steven Baldwin,- The Louis Berger Group
2005     Smart Associates
2004     Thomas Ball - MMS, Inc.
2003     Hoyle Tanner/Milliken Carpet
2002     Sherwin Industries/HNTB
2001     Mike Crowe - Oshkosh Truck
2000     Debra Wright - Verizon

2004 Lifetime Achievement Award - Vincent Scarano

2000 NEC Service Award - Robert Nowak

1996 Lifetime Service Award - Russell Hoyt, A.A.E.

1996 Lifetime Service Award - James Malarky